Co-op Students of the Year 2012

Posted Mar 20th, 2013 in Notice Board


In celebration of National Co-op Week, EWO is pleased to announce the:

EWO Co-op Students of the Year 2012

The EWO 2012 Co-op Student of the Year Awards Committee is pleased to announce the winners of the College and University Awards.  

College Winner: Lisa Steele – Conestoga College

The EWO 2012 Co-op Student of the Year Committee is pleased to announce that, Lisa Steele, a Business Administration Marketing Co-op student at Conestoga College, in Kitchener, has been selected as the 2012 Co-op Student of the Year in the College category.

Lisa was nominated for her outstanding work ethic and leadership role while employed as a Marketing Coordinator at The Defacto Group Inc. Lisa was able to spearhead their social media campaign by integrating new marketing mediums that resulted in a 150% increase in website traffic. There, Lisa also developed detailed and insightful legacy training materials used for the company’s subsequent co-op students.

In addition to her outstanding work at The Defacto Group Inc., Lisa has been involved in many extra-curricular activities and volunteer work through Conestoga College. These activities include speaking at the college to promote co-operative education at networking events and orientation, and thriving in her role as Director of Research & Development with Conestoga Students Inc. To compliment her strong leadership skills, Lisa is certified by the National Center for Student Leadership as a Certified Student Leader, and received a Leadership Award (2011-2012) by Conestoga Students Inc. Congratulations Lisa!


University Winner: Justin Michael – Guelph University

The EWO 2012 Co-op Student of the Year Committee is pleased to announce that Justin Michael, a Bachelor of Engineering – Biomedical Engineering Co-op student at the University of Guelph has been selected as the winner of the 2012 Co-op Student of the Year Award in the University category.

Justin was nominated for his outstanding work while employed as a Human Factors Student Analyst at University Health Network (UHN). While on his 4 month work term, Justin’s contribution exceeded their expectations in terms of the quantity and the quality of work he delivered. Through Justin’s initiative, flexibility, adaptability, competence, trustworthiness and strong communication skills, the overall effectiveness of their team at UHN were enhanced during his co-op term.

As a member of the varsity rowing team, Justin optimizes the definition of a student-athlete. In addition to his academic and athletic demands, Justin demonstrates his dedication to Co-op by participating in an Engineering Student Task Force that examined ways to better support Engineering Co-op students on work terms; developing ways for students to connect and network. Congratulations Justin!

Each of these students will receive a plaque and cheque for $500.Congratulations to the winners of these prestigious awards! Our Committee wishes to thank all of the nominees and their supporting employers and institutions for their participation.  A full list of all nominee details will be available on the EWO website soon.


Your EWO 2012 Co-op Student of the Year Committee:

Kathleen McDowell (University of Toronto Scarborough), Daniela Ibarra (Ryerson University), June Martin (Georgian College), Rob Phillips (Sheridan College), Alexis Trejgo (George Brown College)