What is Education at Work Ontario?

Education at Work Ontario (EWO) strives to promote and foster co-operative education of the highest quality, while ensuring an integral partnership between students, employers and post-secondary educational institutions.


To shape the future of Ontario's economy and workforce through leadership in Work-Integrated Learning.


To provide a consolidated voice for Ontario’s post-secondary Work-Integrated Learning sector as we promote and enable the successful integration of students and industry.


  • Students: We have a student-centered approach while acknowledging the brilliant collaboration between industry, higher education, and students that make Work-Integrated Learning successful for all stakeholders
  • Learning: We believe life-long learning happens inside and outside of the classroom and it's our collective responsibility to promote meaningful learning experiences for our community
  • Integrity: We endeavor to demonstrate high standards of professionalism, honesty, transparency, and fairness while committed to representing the best interests of our stakeholders
  • Inclusivity: We know that our strength is derived from the diversity of our community and we fundamentally believe that all students deserve equitable access to WIL experiences

Strategic Goals

  1. Advocacy for Work-Integrated Learning through active engagement with government and all stakeholders
  2. Promote Work-Integrated Learning to employers and community partners
  3. Empower Work-Integrated Learning practitioners in Ontario through engaging professional development, relevant resources and supports
  4. Enable a sustainable organization, through continuous improvement and strong governance
  5. Deliver value to our members and provide opportunities to get involved, learn, and contribute to our community

Our History

Education at Work Ontario (EWO) was previously known as Co-op Ontario. Co-op Ontario was formed in 1997, through the amalgamation of the University Co-operative Educators (UCEO) and the College Co-operative Educators (CCEO) of Ontario.

Our Members

Our members include Directors, Manager, and Practitioners from 30 Universities and Colleges from across the province, including the following institutions:

  • Algoma College
  • Algonquin College
  • Brock University
  • Carleton University
  • Centennial College
  • Conestoga College
  • Confederation College
  • Durham College
  • Fanshawe College
  • Fleming College
  • George Brown College
  • Georgian College
  • Humber College
  • Lambton College
  • McMaster University
  • Mohawk College
  • Niagara College
  • Ottawa University
  • Ontario Tech University
  • Ryerson University
  • Seneca College
  • Sheridan College
  • St. Clair College
  • University of Guelph
  • University of Toronto
  • University of Windsor
  • Waterloo University
  • Western University
  • Wilfred Laurier University
  • York University