WIL Student of the Year Awards 2020

The EWO WIL Student of the Year Award recognizes one student attending a university and one student attending a college, who have showcased exceptional job accomplishment, extra-curricular involvement, academic achievement and a strong contribution to Work-Integrated Learning.

Picture of Rebekah Derle

College Winner: Rebekah Derle, Conestoga College
Rebekah Derle is a student in the Recreation and Leisure Services program at Conestoga College, and the Student Representative on the Program Advisory Committee. She completed her placement at St. Andrew’s Terrace long-term care home in the city of Cambridge, Ontario. She provided support in the Life Enrichment Department where she spent time each day with the residents to enrich their lives, especially during this ongoing COVID-19 pandemic. She had learned how to plan, implement, and run programs safely for the residents at the home. She is also a musician who plays the trumpet – and uses her musical gifts to run music programs for the residents.

Picture of Selina Quibrantar

University Winner: Selina Quibrantar, University of Toronto
Selina Quibrantar is a fourth-year Human Biology and Population Health student at the University of Toronto (U of T), driven to foster change at the local and global level through investigating ways to address food insecurity. Through her applied research project with Black Creek Community Farm (BCCF), she investigated the inequities that include barriers to food security within Toronto, proposed a policy recommendation to alleviate food insecurity in the Ward 7 neighborhood, and created an executive summary document that was published and shared with the Toronto Food Policy Council to optimize Toronto’s role in managing community food assets. She then leveraged this WIL experience to initiate an independent project in the summer for the COVID-19 Student Engagement initiative with U of T Global, where she utilized her professional connection with BCCF, and extended WIL globally, to create a video series to enrich learning on campus.

2020 Awards Committee

Lauren Broderick | University of Waterloo (Co-Chair)
Trent Jarvis | Mohawk College (Co-Chair)
Andrew Bassingthwaigh
| Brock University
Tammy McDowell | Georgian College
Paul Needham | George Brown College
Matt Wheatley | Algonquin College