Co-op Student of the Year Awards 2020

The EWO Co-op Student of the Year Award recognizes Ontario Co-op students who have showcased exceptional job accomplishment, extra-curricular involvement, academic achievement and a strong contribution to Co-operative Education.

Picture of William Tran

College Winner: William Tran, Centennial College
William Tran, graduate of Centennial’s Supply Chain and Operations Management Diploma program, was an outstanding co-op student in every way. In his co-op work term in Logistics at TJX Canada, he innovated reporting methods to support their digital transformation. William has also excelled academically and in athletics, with many achievements, among them: a 96% average, top 3% of his cohort, and 3 silver medals in intercollegiate tournaments. He also raised $2000 for SickKids Hospital with his Varsity team. While his second work term was cancelled due to the pandemic, he stayed in touch and was offered a work term the following semester. He has shared tips on perseverance despite setbacks for a Centennial Marketing article. While now graduated from Centennial, he continues to volunteer as a Peer Career Coach and as an eMentor. He has also been appointed as a full member of the Supply Chain Management Program Advisory Committee.

Picture of Omar Hajjaj

University Winner: Omar Hajjaj, University of Waterloo
Omar Hajjaj had his 2020 co-op terms with the QUEST research team, primarily working with the University Health Network where he was a vital component of several research projects. He helped coordinate the largest Canadian COVID-19 study investigating the use of convalescent plasma in patients with COVID-19 and created an interactive tracker for patient enrollment that is used in over 60 hospitals across North America. Omar also completed the largest published literature review of umbilical cord blood testing practice. He presented his findings to the Canadian Obstetrics Pediatrics Transfusion Network. Omar generously gives his time and energy to improve the community around him. At the University of Waterloo, he has developed resources to educate students on the co-op program through leadership positions in Science Orientation and in his position as a Residence Don. He also volunteers as a Hotline Responder and a Research Assistant at The Hospital for Sick Children.

2020 Awards Committee

Lauren Broderick | University of Waterloo (Co-Chair)
Trent Jarvis | Mohawk College (Co-Chair)
Andrew Bassingthwaigh
| Brock University
Tammy McDowell | Georgian College
Paul Needham | George Brown College
Matt Wheatley | Algonquin College