WIL Student of the Year Awards 2019

The voice of post-secondary co-operative education in Ontario

The EWO WIL Student of the Year Award recognizes one student attending a university and one student attending a college, who have showcased exceptional job accomplishment, extra-curricular involvement, academic achievement and a strong contribution to Work-Integrated Learning.

Students nominated:

Tara Sottile, Durham College
Abdullani Abdirahman, Sheridan College
Veronica Rickli, Sheridan Colllege

Anh Mai, Brock University

Our Committee is pleased to announce the winners for the College and University Awards for 2019:

Portrait picture of Tara Sottile

College Winner: Tara Sottile, Durham
Tara Sottile is a second year Journalism – Mass Media diploma student at Durham College. She has a passion for writing, broadcast and video production. She is a radio tech at Riot Radio, Durham College’s student-run radio station, and a regular contributor to The Chronicle, the campus newspaper. Tara was also the recipient of the college’s Best First Year Commentary Award in 2019. She is passionate about telling stories, and helping other’s share their stories. She searches for meaning in all stories she produces and is focused on giving a voice to the voiceless. Tara hopes to continue telling stories and pursue a career in radio broadcast after graduating.

Portrait of Anh Mai

University Winner: Anh Mai, Brock University
Anh-Mai is a Master of Education ISP student with her roots and undergraduate studies in Vietnam and her academic pursuit of a Masters degree in Canada.  As part of her educational journey, she participated in a Work-Integrated Learning field placement focused on Marketing & Communications; her area of expertise.  Anh Mai completed a full audit of social media activity at Brock University within the Faculty of Education, as well as three additional University's use of social media.  From here she gathered overall social media demographic information, created a content calendar and provided a full report including future recommendations. Outside the experiential classroom, Anh-Mai has experience as a marketing specialist, holds the position of Marketing Officer for the Goodman School of Business's Goodman Group, is a student Ambassador and also a Peer Mentor within a residence Living Learning Community and is a fully engaged graduate student.

EWO 2019 WIL Student of the Year Award Committee:

Lauren Broderick | University of Waterloo (Co-Chair)
Andrew Bassingthwaigh | Brock University
Trent Jarvis | Mohawk College (Co-Chair)
Tammy McDowell | Georgian College
Paul Needham | George Brown College