Co-op Student of the Year Awards 2018

The voice of post-secondary co-operative education in Ontario

The EWO Co-op Student of the Year Award recognizes Ontario Co-op students who have showcased exceptional job accomplishment, extra-curricular involvement, academic achievement and a strong contribution to Co-operative Education.

Students nominated:

Erin Ball, Conestoga College
Emma Wootton, Sheridan College
Lawrence Young, Sheridan College

Josiah Dueck, Brock University
Rachel Van Herk, Brock University
Sarah Aubert, McMaster University
Rachel Cohen, Ottawa University
Sabrina Fanelli, University of Toronto
Adesh Kadambi, University of Guelph
Keefer Rourke, University of Guelph
James Schnarr, University of Waterloo
Nathan Duarte, University of Waterloo
Himaja Yedidi, University of Windsor
Noah Campbell, University of Windsor

Our Committee is pleased to announce the winners for the College and University Awards for 2018:

College Winner: Lawrence Young, Sheridan College
Lawrence Young completed his third co-op work term as part of Sheridan’s Computer Systems Technology-Software Development and Networking Engineering program with RBC’s Amplify program which is designed to attract top student talent and present them 16 weeks to solve RBC’s most pressing challenges. Lawrence worked as part of a team tasked with developing a chat bot that could have a far-reaching impact on RBC’s client interactions.  Lawrence impressed with his application of his advanced training, his ability to present his ideas at all levels of the organization and his professionalism.  Lawrence is an exceptional student who, as an individual with a severe visual impairment, has provided guidance to both Sheridan and RBC to continually improve the experiences of other students and employees with disabilities.  Lawrence has now been hired full-time by RBC, having accepted one of the 5 RBC job offers he received on conclusion of his work term!

University Winner: Rachel Van Herk, Brock University
Rachel is a fifth year student in her final semester, and had the pleasure of completing four co-op work terms during her time at Brock. Her first co-op was at Meridian Credit Union, during which she developed a passion for data analytics, and enhanced efficiency by automating the audit of business processes. Her next co-op was an 8-month term at RBC, where she built the code to deploy numerous marketing campaigns and developed a new strategy for targeting clients that has since been tested for marketing other RBC products. Her last co-op term was at Canadian Tire Financial Services, where she produced analytical tools to help improve Canada’s performance in the Olympics, such as creating a player performance tool for Curling Canada. While working on these meaningful and exciting projects, she gained 16 months of invaluable experience in the field she would like to pursue a career in.

EWO 2018 Co-op Student of the Year Award Committee:

Ashley Carnrite (Georgian College)
Alexis Trejgo (George Brown College)
Lauren Broderick (University of Waterloo)
Bettyna Bélizaire (University of Ottawa)
Tammy McDowell (Georgian College)
Trent Jarvis (Mohawk College)
Andrew Bassingthwaighte (Brock University)