Co-op Student of the Year Awards 2015

The voice of post-secondary co-operative education in Ontario 

EWO Co-op Student of the Year Award 2015

The EWO Co-op Student of the Year Award recognizes Ontario Co-op students who have showcased exceptional job accomplishment, extra-curricular involvement, academic achievement and a strong contribution to Co-operative Education.

Students nominated:

Prateek Anuja, Fanshawe College
Jacqueline Dykstra, Georgian College
Shauna-Kay Jones, Sheridan College
Stephan Kostuk, Sheridan College
Benjamin Lorantfy, Conestoga College
Louise Marchand, Fanshawe College
Morgan McLean, Conestoga College
Amanda McManus, Mohawk College

Andrew Crawford, University of Guelph
Vivekan Jeyagaran, University of Toronto Scarborough
Andrew  MacDonald, University of Waterloo
Rachel McDonald, University of Waterloo
Christopher Muirhead, University of Guelph
Jennifer Philpott, Brock University
Miranda Schulthorp, University of Ottawa
Our Committee is pleased to announce the winners along with two honourable mentions for the College and University Awards for 2015:  

College Winner: Amanda McManus – Mohawk College

Amanda is a parent, mental health advocate, and honours student.  She resides in Hamilton Ontario.  Amanda entered the Health, Wellness, and Fitness Co-op program in September 2013 and quickly became known for her peer support, tutoring, and encouragement.  This helpful nature served her well as she excelled in her Co-op position as a Lifestyle team member and Fitness Consultant with Health Systems Group (at ArcelorMittal Dofasco).  Drawing on her experience with Mohawk College's Mental Health in Motion Team, Amanda worked as a key member of the Lifestyle team which had exceptional achievements in the area of Mental Health at work.  Amanda and her fiancé put their passion for overall health to task by walking over 400km from Toronto to Parliament Hill in Ottawa to raise awareness for mental health initiatives and overall well-being.  Amanda is in her final semester and personifies excellence in Co-op student achievement at Mohawk College.

University Winner: Rachel McDonald – University of Waterloo

Rachel McDonald is a fourth year student enrolled in Health Studies at the University of Waterloo. After finishing her degree, she plans to go on to medical school. Rachel's spring 2015 work term was with Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre as a Clinical Research Assistant. She worked alongside radiation oncologists, providing patient care and developed research initiatives for palliative radiation oncology. Several of Rachel's papers and abstracts have been published in peer-reviewed journals. She also had the opportunity to participate in the Multinational Association of Supportive Care in Cancer (MASCC) conference in Copenhagen, Denmark, where she delivered two poster presentations. In her spare time, Rachel participates as a volunteer with Adapted Aquatics, teaching swimming to individuals with disabilities. 

Each of these students will receive a plaque and cheque for $750. Congratulations to the winners of these prestigious awards! 

Our Committee felt strongly about two additional nominations, and would like to give Honourable Mentions to: Shauna-Kay Jones from Sheridan College and Jennifer Philpott from Brock University for their achievements.

We would like to thank all of the nominees and their supporting employers and institutions for their participation.


Your EWO 2015 Co-op Student of the Year Award Committee:

June Martin (Georgian College)
Alexis Trejgo (George Brown College)
Rob Phillips (Sheridan College)
Kirk Patterson (University of Waterloo)
Marg Medeiros (Fanshawe College) and
Daniela Ibarra (Ryerson University)